Connect with us

‘No ball ki hattrick kaun karta hai’ – Fans slam Arshdeep Singh as he bowls five no balls in second T20I against Sri Lanka

Arshdeep Singh

India vs Sri Lanka 2023

‘No ball ki hattrick kaun karta hai’ – Fans slam Arshdeep Singh as he bowls five no balls in second T20I against Sri Lanka

India and Sri Lanka locked horns in the second T20I of the three-match series at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune. Indian captain Hardik Pandya won the toss and invited Sri Lanka to bat first. Sri Lankan openers Pathum Nissanka and Kusal Mendis walked out to the middle to give a blazing start to their side.

Hardik led from the front and started the proceedings with the ball. The allrounder started well and gave just two runs away from the first over. Arshdeep Singh, who made a return to the side after being rested for the Bangladesh series, had

Arshdeep Singh had a forgettable return to the team as he gave away 19 runs in his first over which included three consecutive no-balls. He further returned to bowl the 19th over of the innings and gave away 18 runs in the over which again included two no-balls. The Punjab seamer had a day to forget as his bowling figures read 37 runs in 2 overs with 5 no balls in total.

After getting a good start of 80 runs for the first wicket, Sri Lanka lost wickets in quick succession as Umran Malik ripped apart their middle order. Sri Lanka were reeling at 138/6 after 16 overs. But a heroic knock by captain Dasun Shanaka of 56 from 22 balls took them to a total of 206 at the end of their innings.

Axar Patel took India closer to win

In reply to Sri Lanka’s total, India lost wickets in quick succession and were 57/5 after 4.4 overs. However, a brilliant partnership of 91 off 40 balls between Suryakumar Yadav and Axar Patel gave some hope to the fans. Suryakumar departed after scoring 51 off 36 balls with the help of three fours and three sixes. Axar found another partner in Shivam Mavi who scored a brilliant 26 off 15 balls to take India closer to the target.

With 21 required from the last over, Axar tried slapped a full toss straight down the ground to the fielder at long off. Shivam Mavi and Umran Malik couldn’t do much as India lost the match by 16 runs. Dasun Shanaka won the ‘Player of the Match’ award for his 56-run knock and two wickets with the ball.

Meanwhile, Twitter was abuzz with reactions on Arshdeep Singh’s bowling performance. Here are some of the Tweets:


More in India vs Sri Lanka 2023


To Top