Connect with us

‘HUM JEET GAYE’- Kanika Ahuja shines as Bangalore finally get their first win in Women’s T20 League 2023


Cricket News

‘HUM JEET GAYE’- Kanika Ahuja shines as Bangalore finally get their first win in Women’s T20 League 2023

After suffering five back-to-back losses, the Bangalore franchise finally registered their first win in the inaugural season of the Women’s T20 as they defeated the UP franchise by 5 wickets at the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai.

Batting first at the DY Patil Stadium, UP had a disastrous start after Sophie Devine removed Devika Vaidya and the skipper Alyssa Healy in the very first over. The score was reduced to 5 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in two overs Kiran Navgire (22 off 26) tried to take the innings further but she couldn’t go big as UP lost 5 wickets for just 31 runs inside nine overs. After that, Grace Harris took charge and put up a partnership of 69 runs with Deepti Sharma (22 off 19) as UP were able to cross the 100-run mark.

Harris got out after scoring 46 runs off 32 balls hitting five fours and two sixes. UP got bowled out for 135 runs in 19.3 overs following a dramatic runout of Sophie Ecclestone in the final over. Ellyse Perry scalped 3 wickets in her four overs conceding just 16 runs. While Devine and Asha Shobana picked up 2-2 wickets each. Megan Schutt and Shreyanka Patil shared a wicket each.

Kanika – Richa took charge after early wickets

Coming to chase the winning total, Devine got out in the last ball of the over after smashing 14 runs. Skipper Smriti Mandhana’s rough patch continued in the tournament as she got bowled by Deepti in the second over for a duck. Perry also couldn’t continue her form from previous two matches as she tried to take on Vaidya on the first ball of the seventh over but ended up giving a catch to Ecclestone. Heather Knight also lost her wicket after getting a good start.

After that, Kanika Ahuja and Richa Ghosh took the charge and added 60 runs for the fifth wicket. Ahuja got out after scoring 46 runs off 30 balls, hitting eight fours and a maximum. Richa remained unbeaten on 31 from 32 balls as Bangalore chased the target with 12 balls remaining. Deepti scalped 2 wickets for UP, while Harris, Ecclestone and Vaidya picked up a wicket each.

Here’s a look at how Twitterati reacted to the win:

More in Cricket News


To Top