Connect with us

Indian Cricket Board secretary Jay Shah provides update on Rohit Sharma’s injury

Rohit Sharma (left) and Jay Shah (right)

Bangladesh vs India 2022

Indian Cricket Board secretary Jay Shah provides update on Rohit Sharma’s injury

Rohit Sharma injured himself during the first innings of the second ODI while fielding at slips against Bangladesh. From then on KL Rahul took the leadership duties as Rohit left for the scans at the hospital. 

Rohit Sharma did not participate in the remainder of the match until he showed courage and came to bat at number nine and played a stunning knock of 51 runs from 28 balls with three fours and five sixes at a strike rate of 182.14. However, India fell short of just five runs and conceded a 2-0 lead to the hosts.

The Men in Blue skipper has been ruled out of the final ODI of the series and is doubtful for the Test series as well. With the Test series starting on December 14, Rohit hardly has time to recover and return to the squad. He has flown to Mumbai for Medical consultation and Indian Cricket Board secretary Jay Shah confirmed this by giving a statement. 

“The Indian Cricket Board Medical Team assessed him and he underwent scans at a local hospital in Dhaka. He has flown to Mumbai for specialist consultation and will miss the final ODI. A call on his availability for the upcoming Test series will be taken later,” Shah stated in a press release.

Kuldeep Yadav replaces Rohit Sharma

Alongside Rohit, Deepak Chahar and Kuldeep Sen are also being ruled out of the third ODI due to their respective injuries. Chahar was not completely fit in the second ODI where he did not complete his spell due to a hamstring injury while Kuldeep did not participate in the second ODI due to a back stiff. 

Kuldeep Yadav has been named as the replacement for Rohit for the third ODI against the Bangla Tigers whereas Abhimanyu Easwaran, Navdeep Saini, and Saurabh Kumar are likely to replace the injured players in the Test squad. 

Indian Squad for 3rd ODI: Shikhar Dhawan, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w/c), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Shahbaz Ahmed, Umran Malik, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Kuldeep Yadav

More in Bangladesh vs India 2022


To Top