Connect with us

‘Damad ko firse rakh liya’- India makes bold selection moves ahead of crucial 3rd & 4th Tests and ODI series against Australia

India vs Australia

Cricket News

‘Damad ko firse rakh liya’- India makes bold selection moves ahead of crucial 3rd & 4th Tests and ODI series against Australia

Despite a drought of runs over the last few months, star India opener KL Rahul is struggling in the longest format of the game since the Bangladesh series. He scored only 10 and 2 runs in the two Test matches and scored only 20 runs in the first Test against Australia in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, but still, he has been backed by the skipper Rohit Sharma and coach Rahul Dravid for the last two Tests.

The Indian Cricket Board announced the squad for the remaining two Border-Gavaskar Tests and ODI series against Australia. The Test squad for the last two matches is as same as the first two Tests which were announced by All-India Senior Selection Committee.

Jaydev Unadkat return to ODI squad after 10 years

Saurastras skipper Jaydev Unadkat who has won the 2022/23 Ranji title which is second one in the last three years on Sunday, February 19,  has made a comeback to the ODI team after a long gap of 10 years. He was permitted to leave after clinching the title in Kolkata, which happened coincidently with the Delhi Test, and has now been named back to the squad. Unadkat was also included in the 18-person team for the three ODIs against Australia.

According to the Indian Cricket Board, the Men in Blue skipper, Rohit Sharma would miss the first ODI on March 17 in Mumbai. For the first ODI, Hardik Pandya will serve as the team’s captain in his absence. Ravindra Jadeja has also been shortlisted for the ODI series. He made an impressive comeback into the India Test squad after suffering a shoulder injury and picked up 17 wickets in the first two Tests of the ongoing BGT Test seies against the Kangaroos.

India squad for 3rd & 4th Test vs Australia: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul, S Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, R Jadeja, Mohd Shami, Mohd Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

India ODI squad: S Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), R Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, W Sundar, Y Chahal, Mohd Shami, Mohd Siraj, Umran Malik, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Jaydev Unadkat

Here’s how fans reacted on the announcements of both the squads:

More in Cricket News


To Top