Connect with us

Rohit Sharma ruled out of the second Test against Bangladesh – Reports

Rohit Sharma

Bangladesh vs India 2022

Rohit Sharma ruled out of the second Test against Bangladesh – Reports

The Men in Blue skipper Rohit Sharma has been ruled out of the second test that will be played at the Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka on December 22. KL Rahul will continue to lead Team India in the second Test. 

The fact that Rohit’s thumb, which was hurt during the second ODI of the ongoing series, has not entirely healed, led to the news of his unavailability on Monday (December 19). There is a slight rigidity about him that is apparent. The Indian Cricket Board, the selection committee, and the team management have chosen not to risk him at this time in light of the significant duties that will be coming up for the Indian team.

India on second in the WTC points table

Rohit is currently in Mumbai, he could have managed to bat through the Test but concerns remained over the risk involved while fielding. If he sustains another thumb injury, the medical staff and team management thought that it might become serious on the pitch. He appears to be available for the three T20Is and three ODIs against Sri Lanka in the white ball series that begins on January 3. 

In the absence of the Indian skipper, Shubman Gill opened along with stand-in skipper KL Rahul. The 24-year-old scored his maiden ton in the second innings of the first Test where he scored 110 runs, which helped India to a 188-run victory in the first Test match at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram.  

In the World Test Championship points table, after this win, India are in second with 87 points and with a win percentage of 55.77 just behind Australia, who have a total of 120 points and a win percentage of 76.92 and are just above South Africa who recently lot against Australia after which they have a total of 72 points with a win percentage of 54.55.

Indian Test squad for 2nd Test: KL Rahul (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara (VC), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohammadd Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat.

More in Bangladesh vs India 2022


To Top