Connect with us

Top five captains with best win percentages in the Indian T20 League

Sachin Tendulkar (left) and MS Dhoni (right)
Sachin Tendulkar (left) and MS Dhoni (right) (Source: Twitter)

IPL 2024

Top five captains with best win percentages in the Indian T20 League

Indian T20 League is a popular league in the history of cricket and cricketers across the world participate here. The most successful franchises of this league are Mumbai and Chennai with five and four titles respectively. Besides them, former Kolkata franchise skipper Gautam Gambhir has won two championships with his squad.

While former skippers Shane Warne, Adam Gilchrist, and David Warner have also led their teams to one championship each. Rajasthan and Gujarat franchises are the only sides to lift the title on the first go. According to the number of wins to matches played since the league’s establishment, the following captains (minimum 50 matches) have the highest win percentage:

5. Gautam Gambhir – 55.03% (Delhi and Kolkata)

Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir (Source: Twitter)

Gautam Gambhir started his Indian T20 League captaincy for the Delhi franchise in 2010 and then he was transferred to the Shah Rukh Khan-owned Kolkata franchise. He took the side to two titles, first in 2012 and then in 2014. He is known for his aggressive approach to captaincy. The former cricketer has captained the side in 129 matches out of which he won 71 matches and lost 57 matches. The 41-year-old has a win percentage of 55.03.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

More in IPL 2024


To Top