Connect with us

Umran Malik uproots Maheesh Theekshana’s off-stumps with a 146 kph delivery, video goes viral

Umran Malik knocking Maheesh Theekshana

Cricket News

Umran Malik uproots Maheesh Theekshana’s off-stumps with a 146 kph delivery, video goes viral

Team India thrashed Sri Lanka in the third Twenty20 International to win the three-match series 2-1 in Rajkot. Thanks to Suryakumar Yadav‘s remarkable unbeaten performance of 112 off just 51 deliveries, the team amassed a solid total of 228/5 in 20 overs. As a result, Arshdeep Singh grabbed three wickets, while Hardik Pandya, Umran Malik, and Yuzvendra Chahal snapped two, as Sri Lanka collapsed to 137.

In the third T20I, Umran ramped up the heat once more by taking crucial wickets of Maheesh Theekshana and Wanindu Hasaranga early in the innings. The speedster’s blistering pace was also on display as he sent the stumps flying with a 146kph ball that sent Theekshana back to the dugout.

When Umran was summoned in for his third over and delivered Theekshana’s stumps with his third ball, India was already close to winning. The Chennai franchise spinner took a step back and flung his bat at the length ball more in the interest of making contact with the delivery than of making a bold shot. The ball crushed the off-stump because the Sri Lankan batsman didn’t react in time and completely missed the line.

Watch it here:

Seniors back for the ODI series against Sri Lanka series

Umran finished the series with seven wickets in three games, finishing with final encounter with 2/31 in three overs. The right-arm pacer also set a record for the quickest ball by an Indian bowler during the opening T20, bowling Dasun Shanaka of Sri Lanka at 155 kilometers per hour.

Prior to that, Suryakumar scored an unbroken 112. He did it by smashing seven fours and nine sixes on the way to his third century in T20Is. In addition to Shubman Gill‘s crucial 46, India amassed a massive total in Rajkot. India won this T20I series for the first time under skipper Hardik Pandya and for the tenth time in a row at home.

The team will resume play in the ODI series that gets underway on January 10. India’s top three, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and KL Rahul, will all be back for the series, with Rohit serving as the team’s captain.

More in Cricket News


To Top